Entry tags:
Meme time
Drop one of these bad boys in a comment and I will respond, without editing:
journalmemes.
ETA: My current projects are:
- FIRST — the first two sentences of my current project
- LAST — the most recently written two sentences of my current project
- NEXT — the next line. meaning i will finish the sentence I’m on and write a new one, which you’ll get.
- [insert prompt here] — you post a prompt, and i’ll write three sentences based on that prompt, set in the same time/setting as my current project
- THE END — i’ll make up an ending, or post the ending if i’ve written it
- BEFORE THE BEGINNING — three sentences (or more) about something that happened before the plot of my current project
- POV — something that’s already happened, retold from another character’s perspective
ETA: My current projects are:
- "Flicker From View" (RK time-travel fixit)
- That We've Broken Their Statues (HP/Labyrinth xover)
- Come All You Madmen (original work)
- Bound To Drown (original work)
- The Twofold Path (original work)

no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
As it is, Komagata is working her silent way toward some distant corner of the room, and Aoshi moves unobtrusively to follow her.
LAST
He'll do better this time.
"That person is not long for this world," Omasu says, as flatly as if it's a simple fact.
ALSO, I am seriously considering putting up a large chunk of Chapter 12 and Chapter 13 of Flicker up on my personal journal, because I'm still not super sure of it and want as many opinions as I can get before I pull the trigger on it. Problem is: MASSIVE SPOILERS for stuff that happens down the way. Like, spoiling a bighuge canon divergence. Something worth doing, or should I just chill the fuck out and keep writing until I get there?
i like how the random button went for both my tifa icons
And hmmm! I think it's very difficult to get a good view of how things are going overall when you serially publish fic, so as much as I'd love to read more I think it'd be easier to keep going. I've been having the same discussion with a friend recently who's in the middle of a longfic and having a lot of trouble - it's really hard to get to the middle, aka The Hard Part, and realize you really screwed up five chapters ago, except whoops you already posted that and Now What. Revision is hard enough as it is!
That said, if you're really super stuck it might be worth having a friend or two read it over. I tend to err on the side of "future Larissa will fix this." (Spoiler: I am not yet that future Larissa.)
all glory to the random button
Hilariously, chapters 12 and 13 are the easy part. Getting through chapter nine is like pulling fucking teeth in comparison. Writing fight scenes that Aoshi just watches, rather than participates in, is killing me right now. Most of my fights have been fast and bare-bones, but I feel like you just can't really talk about the fights in Mt. Hiei without, like, lingering lovingly.
Honestly, assuming that this specific plotline is something I want to pull the trigger on, it's the part of the fic I'm looking forward to most. Things go off the rails in a major, unpleasant way at the start of Jinchuu. It really exemplifies my whole "different from canon doesn't mean kinder than canon" outlook on fix-it AU's. Because, sure, characters will fix some things, but others can (and should!) go really, really badly.
Suffice to say, if I do it, I'm going to get a lot of yelling in my inbox. And it will be worth it, if that happens! I just have doubts about whether it's kind of cheap. (Yes, I'm killing somebody. No, it's not permanent.)
no subject
This delights me in so many ways, you have no idea. (The Kyoto arc is one of my very favorite arcs in anything ever, and I love that entire sequence.)
Seriously though, I think you should go with your gut. "Different from canon doesn't mean kinder than canon" is a really interesting way to look at this kind of fic, and while it's not easy to pull off, it's definitely worth doing. Some readers won't like it, but that will happen with anything.
no subject
And yeah, the Mt. Hiei fights are amazing. One of my favorite things about Ruroken is that Watsuki is continually pointing out that people who get involved in revolutions (or failed rebellions) are doing so out of genuine understandable reasons. Their decisions may be horrible, but we have to acknowledge that they were formed in a shitty crucible by shitty circumstances. And the Mt. Hiei fights really drive that home. Well, except for Usui, who's just... Usui. Watsuki really did a good job there (except for Usui. I have problems with Usui, and they basically amount to, "Watsuki really didn't think ahead, did he?").
...wait. I think I may have just solved a huge problem for myself.
Usui's whole "Mind's Eye" gig is mildly interesting against Saitou, but it would be wholly unintimidating to someone from the Oniwabanshuu. The thing that would make Usui a threat isn't his senses, it's the fact that the rochin & tinbe are a pair of obscure Okinawan weapons. And any form of rochin Aoshi would have heard of or encountered wouldn't have a mace at the end of it. Excuse me, I need to go nerd out and also watch some YouTube videos.
no subject
no subject
https://raveninthewind.dreamwidth.org/1291701.html
NEXT
(Anonymous) 2019-03-15 05:59 am (UTC)(link)Also, because it's almighty late and this is the internet... I found a beverage we should try at some point. Probably won't beat Path to the Underworld, but few things have.
Mango Femme Fatale Single Hop Kohatu.